Needle pokage = GOOD!

Though I am a skeptic on many things, I am a firm believer in acupuncture’s effectiveness for some conditions. I don’t necessarily buy the concept of chi and meridians and all that (even though I have studied and continue to explore Eastern philosophies), but I do think acupuncture can help –especially with pain.

Much of this is because I have personally experienced benefits from acupuncture both before and after my back surgery in 2005 (which is, I believe, part of what eventually led to my fibromyalgia) and also since my FM diagnosis.

I know research has shown reported pain reduction levels that are similar with both “real” acupuncture and “sham” acupuncture, but I honestly don’t care about that. If there are pain reductions, then fabulous! Why does it matter how the pain was reduced?

Anyway, I came across an interesting article at Science Daily that explains some potential additional benefits of acupuncture that “sham” acupuncture doesn’t duplicate. So, hah to those who doubt it’s awesome power! (Please read that with the sarcasm with which it is intended…hear super hero voice and you’ll get it!)

Leave a comment

Filed under fibromyalgia, health, wellness

Leave a Reply

