Back — And Raring to Go!

It’s been an absurdly long time since my last post. Part of me wishes I had some wonderful story about all the outstanding things I’ve done in the last year so I can amaze and astound my friends.

Yeah. That’s just not the case.

In actuality, the last couple years had a lot of yuck with a bit of mess and a whole helping of lousy. But they also had a good bit of ah, a touch of cool, and some finally as well.

So, quick summary. February of 2010 I took a medical leave of absence from my job of 6+ years and where I thought I would spend the rest of my working life. June of 2010, I left that job for good. July through about September, I spent mostly in bed or on the couch feeling lousy from the fibromyalgia and lousier from feeling like I had failed professionally. I didn’t touch my dissertation. I didn’t do anything much around the house. I just slept or, when not sleeping, sat. I caught up on a whole lot of HGTV shows. And I tried to figure out what, on Earth, I wanted to be when I grew up.

In October of 2010, I started a year long training program to become a health coach. In November, I started designing and making jewelry. I didn’t really sell much. I started going to lots of shows and spending lots of money to buy beads, wire, tools, gizmos, and gadgets. I spent more money buying paraphenalia and hoopla to be able to set up and run booths at various arts & crafts shows and community festivals. I started selling more.

In January of 2011, my daughter (Pkin: see my chronicles of our life at In the Pkin Patch) was diagnosed with High-Functioning Autism. As such, much of the last year has been spent learning, exploring, and experimenting while doing our best to make sure all of her educational, emotional, and general kid needs are being met the best way possible. Through this work, I’ve discovered a strong interest in special education advocacy and have started the process of eventually pursuing that professionally. Not quite there yet though.

I successfully completed my health coach program in November of 2011. I did a few tentative things to try to start that up as a “real” business, including teaming up with a chiropractic office. In the end, that didn’t work out and while I’ve had a few clients, they are all people I’ve coached pro-bono because I want to see them get healthier. This has helped teach me that I really don’t like the idea of having to go out and market myself and my services to others. Just feels weird.

And yet I’ve chosen to try running three different businesses that require me to do just that. Yeah. Interesting approach.

In the midst of all of this, I started really looking at my dissertation again and taking steps to get back on top of it so I could finish. I submitted two chapters to my committee in December of 2011. In February of 2012, I had two committee members resign from my committee. Hello monkey wrench!

After lots of discussion and advice and hair pulling and chaos and only one real moment of thinking, “Screw this. I’m outta’ here!” I now have a new committee, a reorganized dissertation, and more energy to finish than I have had in years.

With this new energy to finish my dissertation, I also have a new energy to get my health and my life on the right track as well. These things, and surely many more, will now be the focus of this blog.

Hope you enjoy traveling along with me (and if no one else ever even reads this, I’ll enjoy writing it)!

Leave a comment

Filed under goals

Leave a Reply

