A Good CSA is Your Friend

I adore my farm. Of course, it’s not actually “my” farm (in part because I am apparently not capable of actually growing much of anything. But I keep trying). Luckily, people who actually know what they are doing are nice enough to let me come and act like its my farm for a couple hours each week and send me home with an amazing container full of all sorts of yummy goodness.

This week’s CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) bucket included zucchini, crookneck squash, patty pan squash, green beans, new potatoes, yellow plums, donut peaches, onions, peaches, cucumbers, broccoli, and a sage plant (which I will try not to kill). We also got to pick Swiss chard, more green beans, and blackberries.

Our fabulous cornucopia! (If you look closely, you can see one of the 12 worms who came home with us on our broccoli. He’s sitting right in front — probably laughing at us). And yes, that’s a jar of pickles that DH made sitting in the corner fermenting.

One of my goals with our CSA this year is to actually use the food we get every week as the foundation for our meals. I want to get to the point where we are eating every last bit and none is going bad both because that means we’re eating lots of healthy fruit and veg and because it means we aren’t being wasteful (at least in this part of our lives).We haven’t quite gotten there yet, but we’re working on it.

This week, Pkin and I went to town on picking blackberries. We were in the first group of people to pick when they opened the fields. The weather has been hot, so they ripened a bit before schedule and there were a TON available. We didn’t pick quite that many…but we got close. In our effort to meet this goal, we dove right in to making blackberry jam.

We made eight 1/2 pint jars (add that to the seven jars of strawberry jam we have left from strawberry season and we are pretty well set with jam. Of course, we also canned cherry pie filling and will definitely be making peach jam and pie filling once that season kicks off). I may even try canning some veggies as we move on. It is surprisingly simple — much less scary than I had made it out to be for some reason.

And, if nothing else, we’ll be all set for the Mayan Apocalypse.

Leave a comment

Filed under food, goals

Leave a Reply

