21-Day Sugar Detox: Day 1

Today marks Day 1 of my first-ever 21-Day Sugar Detox. And no, this isn’t an April Fools joke. Really. I promise. No, seriously. Seriously.

It’s Spring (ish), so just like I’m trying to actually be able to grow vegetables in my garden this year (rather than my usual highly-honed skill of planting things so they can die and replenish the soil — I’m helpful, I know!) I figure it’s time to get the sugar out. And unlike my usual “dive in with both feet, flounder around, give up and get out” technique, this time I’m playing it smart. I know that I have a few other things pulling my attention this month (namely my dissertation defense next week. AAAAAHHHHHHH!!! NEXT WEEK!!!), so I’m doing Level 1 of the 21 DSD. It’s sort of a way to ease my way in. I’ll save my usual crazy for later 😉

I’m also super pleased that I’m not doing this alone. Some of my Holistic Moms Network friends are tackling this together. We’re all coming to it from different places and with different goals, but we’re all in it together. I’ll be posting my progress regularly, sharing recipes, etc. So check back for more thrills and excitement!

Breakfast: Hard-boiled eggs (because you’ve gotta’ use ’em once you color ’em!) with celery, mustard & flax oil; toasted almonds

Lunch: [updated] Beef and cheddar lettuce wraps with peppers and cucumbers, kombucha

Snacks: [updated] Green banana, almond butter

Dinner: Eating out…we’ll see how that goes! [updated] It went pretty well. Ate Korean BBQ, focused on veggies with some bulgogi and pork, which likely had a bit of sugar in the sauce, but I made the best choices I had given the options available (so I’m considering this a victory).

 

The 21-Day Sugar Detox

Leave a comment

Filed under 21 DSD, food, health

Leave a Reply

