21-Day Sugar Detox: Day 2

So here we are — Day 2. Already more than 24 hours into this whole thing and all is well. Woo-hoo! I didn’t really experience any cravings or need to eat that leftover Easter candy that my husband “hid” so he and my daughter could still have a bit if they wanted — even when Pkin had a couple pieces while sitting on the couch next to me.

I have already learned a few important lessons that will help me for the next 20 days. Maybe they will help someone else, so I’m writing them down here.

1) When you think you have planned everything, plan some more.

I thought I had done all the planning I needed. I knew what foods I would and would not be eating. I had plans for snacks, plans for meals, plans for drinks, plans for pretty much everything (I do, after all, love planning). And then my plans got derailed a bit. I realized I didn’t have something I thought I had. I ended up being out running errands longer than I thought and forgot my planned snack at home.  A quick trip to the mall with Pkin turned into a much longer than anticipated trip. You know…life happened. And when life happens, plans help. I’ve now made some 21 DSD banana and apple chips to stash in my purse with some nuts. I’m also planning to make some paleo-style granola later today. And then I’ll plan some more.

2) Listen to your body.

This one can be hard if you’ve spent any amount of time trying to convince your body that your brain knows best about what to eat, how much to eat, when to eat, etc. And it can take a good bit of practice to tune in to what your body is saying. I’ve spent a couple years working on listing to what my body has to say about pain, fatigue, etc. with my fibromyalgia. I’ve also spent a decade or so trying not to listen to what my body said about food (because all the information I had crammed into my head about what I “should” do was clearly better than what my body was actually saying). Luckily, the former is helping with the latter. My breakfast this morning  (exact contents listed below) was good, but it was small. DH made it based on the number of eggs I’d eaten in the past plus the veggies I told him to add. And it’s now 90 minutes later and I’m hungry — because I stopped eating not because my body told me it was done, but because I’d eaten what I used to think of as a “big enough” meal. I let my brain convince me that my body was wrong. It wasn’t. I’m having a snack now. My practice with meditation and mindfulness is going to be coming in handy over these next few weeks.

3) Make your needs and expectations clear to others.

This follows on the breakfast-size problem. DH knows that I’m doing the 21 DSD. He knows that when he eats the same meals I eat, he’ll be doing it too. And he kinda’ knows what that all means. But he doesn’t know that there may need to be changes to my “usual” — because I haven’t told him what to change. I need to be clearer. Then he can still cook some of the food for us (because that is awesome!).

4) Make sure your kitchen is clean.

This may seem simple for some, but for a house full of pack rats with no spare time, our normal degree of “clean” isn’t going to work. One thing about any sort of healthy eating plan is that you will be spending time in the kitchen. It might be more or less time than you usually do, depending on who you are and how you eat, but it will be time no matter what (and likely a good bit of time). The cleaner the kitchen is, the easier and more enjoyable it will all be. No one wants to cut up fresh veggies next to a sink of dirty dishes. OK, maybe someone does. If you happen to be one of those people, feel free to come to my place to cut up my veggies.

Those are my lessons from Day 1. We’ll see what Day 2 brings! Meals for today are below, in case your interested and so I can remember myself as I look back.

Breakfast: Eggs with spinach and mushrooms

Lunch: [updated] Spinach salad with mushrooms, eggs, walnuts, paremesan, and homegrown alfalfa sprouts (yeah me!) in a lemon vinaigrette.

Snack: [updated] Chai with coconut oil, green apple with almond butter

Dinner: [updated] Kitchen sink veggie, beef, and rice soup (I literally took all those almost-past-good veggies in my frig, chopped them up, threw them in my slow cooker with a box of organic beef broth, a quart of homemade chicken stock, some grass-fed beef stew meat from a local farm, some rice, salt, and pepper and let it cook for several hours. Yummo!)

 

The 21-Day Sugar Detox

Leave a comment

Filed under 21 DSD, food, health

Leave a Reply

