21-Day Sugar Detox: Day 8

Today is shaping up to be one of those days. I started by hitting myself in the head with my phone (I even made a bit of a pendulum out of it by dangling it by the cord first so I got some extra oomph behind the smack!) and giving myself a nice quarter-sized goose egg on my forehead (it’s shrunken a bit now, but is turning into a full-on bruise. This is gonna’ look great at my dissertation defense later this week!).

Then our perpetually messing up toilet decided to mess up, meaning DH needed to work on that before heading to the office. So I ended up needing to drive Pkin to school (and quickly) without eating any breakfast. As I also needed to make some PTA copies, I decided I’d just tackle them at the same time. Of course, I then messed up some of the copies, so that what should have been about a 30 minute trip turned into about 90 minutes. And I still hadn’t eaten.

I finally got home about 10:15am and needed to eat, but knew I wasn’t up for cooking anything. And I haven’t yet made the coconut flour pancakes or paleo granola I’ve been meaning to make. And I ate all the banana chips and dried apples I made last week. I knew, though, that the ease of cereal or oatmeal wasn’t worth the way it would make me feel later. We did have some leftover beans and rice. Combining two foods on the “limit” list of 21 DSD is certainly not ideal, bit I decided that it was the best I could do under the circumstances and would just be OK with that. I also added some good fat in the form of avocado to round it out a bit. Sometimes you just have to do the best you can with the situation you’re presented with.

Hopefully, this will be the last of the stereotypical Mondayness of today. I’m ready for something different!

—–

Breakfast: Pinto beans, rice, and avocado.

Lunch: [updated] Plain Greek yogurt with cinnamon, walnuts, and 1/2 a green apple

Snacks: [updated] Didn’t seem to need any…

Dinner: [updated] Beef and veggie stir-fry with fried rice (yes, I know, too much rice in one day. I decided I’m OK with that.)

The 21-Day Sugar Detox

Leave a comment

Filed under 21 DSD, food, health

Leave a Reply

