21-Day Sugar Detox: Day 14

Wow! I’m 2/3 of the way through this detox already. That was actually surprisingly fast! A bit ironically, today is the first day I had any sort of craving for sweets since I started. I suspect this is because I’m flaring and, as a result, didn’t get out of bed until about 1pm today. As a result, I didn’t eat anything until about 1:30pm. And I can totally imagine that my body would start craving whatever just to get me to eat!

But, no worries, I’m not throwing in the towel because I’m wanting sweets, feeling wiped out, and in pain. The latter two, at least, are my life with fibromyalgia and I’ve come to accept that (I certainly didn’t accept it at first, but that’s what a couple years and a good bit of experience will give you). I knew a flare was coming, but I wouldn’t change a thing about the last few days. I mean, for goodness sake, I defended my dissertation! My daughter got the sort of enjoyment from an event that she rarely experiences and we got to experience it right along with her — she actually welcomed us into the experience with her (something that doesn’t always happen with a child who has autism).

Today she asked if we can go back every year. Without reservation, I told her we can. I’ll take flares and cravings anytime to share something meaningful with my little girl. It helps that I know a craving is just my body trying to get my attention and tell me something. I also know I can listen and make an informed, intelligent,conscious choice without giving in to the habitual and addictive call for sugar.

—–

Breakfast: Yeah. I slept through that.

Lunch: Bacon and arnabeet with tahini

Snacks: Apple with almond butter, cheese

Dinner: [updated] Ribs (DH makes some mighty good ones!)

The 21-Day Sugar Detox

Leave a comment

Filed under 21 DSD, food, health

Leave a Reply

